Sara S.

Wow! I think this book ended exactly the way it should have! I wasn’t expecting the novel to finish as it did, but I thought it was very appropriate. Before I continue about the ending though, let me go back to the beginning of the section and comment.

At the beginning of this section, I liked how the story was finally wrapping up and returning to the present. I enjoyed Mrs. Dean’s tale, but I wanted it to end because it started to get aggravating due to Heathcliff’s behavior and I wanted to know how everything was going to end. The opening chapter, though, was very depressing and continued the sad note from the previous chapters. Catherine is miserable and acting out readily. She is purposefully doing and saying things that will tick Heathcliff off, but who can blame her: everyone and everything she knew has been taken away from her and she’s been forced into an unwilling marriage. To top things off, Linton dies in this chapter, and even though she was not fond of him, he really was the only person left that she somewhat cared about.

After this, the book revisits the present-day and we find out that Lockwood has recovered from his cold. Upon hearing Heath cliff’s history through, Lockwood decides to go to Wuthering Heights. At this point in the book, I wasn’t sure what he was trying to accomplish. Obviously he delivered a letter to Catherine from Mrs. Dean and he talked to Heathcliff about his renting, but it seemed like he wanted to go sweep Cathy off her feet and found the situation not as he liked. I don’t know though, what do you think? Do you believe that Lockwood had another agenda he did not accomplish? I also found it surprising that Lockwood decided to move away from Thrushcross Grange. Why do you think he did this?

Then the book shifts into a year later and Lockwood has returned Gimmerton, where Wuthering Heights and his previous home are located. At this point in the book, I got really excited because I knew something had to change with the characters since Lockwood returned. Once he makes it to Wuthering Heights, we find that Mrs. Dean there, Heathcliff dead, and Catherine and Hareton are in love with each other. All these events were very surprising, but all exhilarating because, finally, the characters are all happy.

I found it odd, however, the peculiarity of Heathcliff’s death. He wasn’t ill with any sort of sickness or disease and he did not hurt himself in anyway. He just wouldn’t eat anything or sleep. I thought his death seemed similar to Catherine’s, which would make sense since they had some sort of connection with each other. I also think that Catherine was haunting him, like he asked, and she freaked him out enough to just wither away into nothingness in order to be together again. These are just my assumptions, but what do you think?

Overall, my favorite part of this novel was the relationship between young Catherine and Hareton. I liked this so much because I didn’t think that anything would happen between the two. I think it surprised me so much because the pairing of them actually fit well together. Also, my other favorite part is the very end where Heathcliff and Catherine are seen together, as ghosts, walking through the hills of Wuthering Heights.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. wutheringheightsgroup
    Jan 14, 2013 @ 01:25:33

    Sara,
    I agree that Heathcliff’s death was peculiar. I honestly think he died from depression, his will to live simply went away. Also it juxtaposes the violent life he lived, by dying in peace it makes the whole ghost scene with Catherine seem more believable, truly the only time we saw him happy in the novel is when he was with Catherine.
    Also I think Lockwood returned to Wuthering Heights because his curiosity drove him. He had taken such an interest in the story, that it only made sense to return to the house. Also the story, after Mrs. Dean, is told from the perspective of Lockwood, so it gives the author a way to tell the reader the rest of the story.
    The ending with everyone falling in love was my favorite part too. It was nice to end the novel on a note of love rather than sorrow or hatred.
    -Caleigh

    Reply

  2. wutheringheightsgroup
    Jan 25, 2013 @ 23:27:32

    Sara,
    I think, personally, that Mr. Lockwood did kind of want to sweep Cathy off her feet. Her story almost made her seem like a damsel in distress sort of type figure, and I think Lockwood wanted to be the hero– and who doesn’t want to be a hero? I think Lockwood was kind of pretentious to act this way, but who can say? Maybe his actions made more sense for the time.
    And I do think Heathcliff just gave up on life, in that sense killing himself. In most movie adaptions I have seen (all two of them), Heathcliff literally kills himself- shoots himself or some other sort of definite suicide. And I do believe that he died when the first Cathy, the Cathy he loved, died. As Benjamin Franklin said, “Many people die at twenty five and aren’t buried until they are seventy five.” And I find that to be particularly true of Heathcliff.
    -Tori

    Reply

Leave a Reply

